Midnight Wondering – 22.01.17

“Never be afraid to raise your voice for honesty and truth and compassion against injustice and lying and greed. If people all over the world…would do this, it would change the earth.”  ― William Faulkner

I am so inspired right now.

After seeing all of the tweets and Instagram posts and articles and photos of the marches that took place all over the world yesterday, I am feeling so inspired.

There is a lot of injustice in this world and there is a lot of injustice in our own society. I think that we try and see the world through rose coloured glasses but those are glasses that need to come off. I’m not saying that you can’t have hope. You should have hope. But those glasses, that make you see life as if nothing is wrong, need to go. They don’t look good with your outfit.

I hate using this word because it’s started to come along with such a negative connotation, but that being said, I think that everyone needs to acknowledge their own privilege. One of the first things you need to learn is whether or not you have a step us and that having a step up in one area of your life does not make you a bad person. Do not let people think that because you’ve had some sort of privilege, you’re an awful human being. Facing it in the mirror is step one, though. I cannot pretend that because I am a white Canadian, I haven’t had it easier. I’ve never had to worry about how someone was going to look at me or judge me based on the colour of my skin. I have never felt a fear in the pit of my stomach when I see a police officer and I have never had to fight against a society that has been against my brothers and sisters for centuries.

I am a woman and I know the struggle that we have had to face. I know the inequality and double standards that we fight against every single day, at home and across the globe. There are so many women and girls who do not have access to proper health care, who do not have the same dreams and goals as the boys in their class because they’re not being told that it’s a choice for them.

I think that step two is taking a moment to pause and listen and learn. I am still learning exactly how I can help and how I can make a difference. I have been watching some really wonderful movies and reading some lovely articles that have put things into perspective. I highly recommend that everyone watch the film 13th about race in the US criminal justice system. I’ve also adored the film Miss Representation about how women are represented in our society and the effects it has.

I don’t know. I’m only barely scratching the surface of this topic but seeing the protests and what not in the wake of Trump being sworn in as president is just so inspiring to me and that’s what’s been on my mind all week. Seeing people stand up for what they believe in, make signs and go out to fight for what they believe is right, is so, so inspiring to me. I’ve had this rush of pride in my fellow women and I have this feeling in my heart that I can do anything and I’m worthy of it all.

Peaceful protests have brought change. That can’t be argued, it’s just a fact of history. Peaceful protests and marches have give women the right to vote, it brought civil rights to African Americans…it’s brought change, and I am so inspired and proud to be part of a generation that is fighting again. I hope that you’re feeling inspired too and I hope that when you get the chance to stand up and fight or sit back and wait, you decide to stand.

And you can tell me that it’s pointless, you can call me whatever name you want, you won’t change my mind. I am a nasty woman and I am fighting for other nasty, beautiful, strong, powerful women all over the world.

Top Three
01. Death of a Bachelor by Panic! At the Disco
02. Glitter and Gold tea from David’s Tea
03. Actors on Actors videos from Variety

Photo cred: Aaron P. Bernstein / Getty Images
Leave a Reply

