Positive Eating: My Plan

My diet is really not that great. At least, it’s not where I want to be. I know that there are a million different diets, a million different ways of being ‘healthy’. We’re constantly hearing about paleo, gluten free, vegan, clean, whatever. It’s everywhere we read and it can be a little hard to pick something.

The biggest piece of advice I can give (and I am by no means an expert) is that you have to trust yourself and your body. Sometimes you read this articles saying that if you give up BLANK, you’ll be healthier than ever! Flat stomach! Glowing skin! Better sex life! It feels like every week, they just insert a new thing that is slowly giving you stomach fat and cancer.

It’s exhausting so that’s why I think that you need to listen to your body and trust your gut. I know that I’m not healthy because I don’t feel healthy. I’m sluggish and unmotivated and I get headaches all the time and I really do need to lose some weight. I also know that when I eat most meat products, I feel really heavy and weighed down. For many years, I haven’t really enjoyed most meats. The meat products that I do like are things that are really bad for you, like bacon!

So I’ve decided that this year is the year I change my diet. I can’t say right now that I’m a vegetarian or that I’m going vegetarian. It’s a huge change for a person to make in general and I know myself, I know how I react when I restrict things from my diet. Whenever I decide that I’m not going to eat a certain thing, I cut it out for about a week but then I have a bad day and I binge. Which is not cool because then I start to feel really crappy about myself.

The way that I’m looking at this this year, is instead of taking things away, I’m adding things. Because the truth is that I don’t eat enough meat to actually get the benefits that you’re supposed to get from it but I’m also not replacing it with anything. So I am trying to make an effort to eat more plant based and add in things with veggies and beans and tofu, the stuff that’s going to give me the nutrients that I am missing.

So that’s my plan. I’ll try and update you as I go. Maybe in a year, I’ll have cut out meat completely. Maybe I’ll have stopped trying. Maybe I’ll come back with another post about the reasons I want to eat less meat. We’ll see. This is just an experiment. I want to see what I’m capable of without the pressure of having to get it perfectly right.

I’ve decided to go ahead and get some pictures of what I would like to eat in a day. This is by no means a perfect diet and it is far from what I eat everyday. If I worked from home, yeah, I could do this. However, I work 40 hours a week and do not have the time or the energy to eat like this all the time. In an ideal world, however, this is what I’m looking at.

I like to start the day with my new favourite meal of greek yogurt, granola, fruit, and a cup of tea (always a cup of tea). I’ve found this to be filling and satisfying but it also doesn’t weigh me down and it’s really easy to throw this together when I’m half asleep. I can get some nutrients into me without having to really think about it too much.

img_7560

Lunch varies based on how much time or how much effort I want to put in. It also depends on how hungry I am. If, like today, I come in from running some errands and I’m starving, I need something I can eat really quickly.

So I simply medium-boiled some eggs, so they were cooked but the yolk was still slightly runny. I peeled them and put them into a bowl with a bit of butter and salt and pepper. This was a meal that my mother used to make for me all the time and she still makes it better than I ever will be able to (even though it’s just eggs). I had it with half a bagel, cream cheese, and some tomatoes, and I’m good to go! I might have said in this blog before but Ill say it again: I encourage you to get whole wheat bagels or anything other than plain. I get plain because my love of bagels is too strong and the sesame in most other times makes me itchy.

img_7562

Dinner is one of the most simple meals and for me, it really is the most satisfying. All I do is toss some mushrooms in a pan and let them cook down for a long time before I throw in whatever veggies I have on hand (this is usually frozen veggie mix but I like zucchini and broccoli). I’ll cook them with teriyaki sauce, soya sauce, garlic, black pepper…whatever I have on hand. As that is all cooking, I like making some thin rice noodles to go with it all.

img_7550

We’ll see how all of this goes. I’m feeling pretty positive about all of this. I’m looking forward to the future.

3 thoughts on “Positive Eating: My Plan

Leave a Reply

