Mental Health Break

My friends and family know that I do not have the healthiest brain in the world and I’ve casually mentioned that I’ve been dealing with mental health issues in previous posts, but I wanted to talk more in depth about it today so bear with me.

For a very long time, I have lived with depression and anxiety. It’s become something about myself that I am learning to accept and work with. I think that denying it and hiding it is just going to make it worse.

Lately, I’ve been having a bit of a heard time. Certainly not at my worst but I have been in a funk. It’s been a struggle to get up in the morning and work through the day and I certainly haven’t been sleeping well (I’ve been having the same anxiety nightmare for about 2 weeks now).

For me, the first step is always just accepting that I feel the way that I feel. Once I just accept that I am not feeling well and I am not at my best, I can take care of it. I think that my first instinct is to pretend that nothing is wrong and that I’m okay but then I get frustrated because accomplishing simple tasks feels impossible. Then I end up feeling even worse about myself and it just gets worse.

So I like to take mental health days. I’m lucky enough to be surrounded my people who support me and care about me and I’m also lucky enough to work in a place where I have manager who I consider a friend, so talking to her is easy.

If you need a day or two or three to feel better, do it. It helps. Accept how you’re feeling and allow yourself the time you need to heal. You’ll benefit in the end.

Take care of yourself ❤

Leave a Reply

